The Code Breaker Young Readers Edition

This book guided Jennifer Doudna to focus her studies not on DNA, but on what seemed to take a backseat in biochemistry: figuring out the structure of RNA, a closely related molecule that enables the genetic instructions coded in DNA to ...

The Code Breaker    Young Readers Edition

Walter Isaacson’s #1 New York Times bestselling history of our third scientific revolution: CRISPR, gene editing, and the quest to understand the code of life itself, is now adapted for young readers! When Jennifer Doudna was a sixth grader in Hilo, Hawaii, she came home from school one afternoon and found a book on her bed. It was The Double Helix, James Watson’s account of how he and Francis Crick had discovered the structure of DNA, the spiral-staircase molecule that carries the genetic instruction code for all forms of life. This book guided Jennifer Doudna to focus her studies not on DNA, but on what seemed to take a backseat in biochemistry: figuring out the structure of RNA, a closely related molecule that enables the genetic instructions coded in DNA to express themselves. Doudna became an expert in determining the shapes and structures of these RNA molecules —an expertise that led her to develop a revolutionary new technique that could edit human genes. Today gene-editing technologies such as CRISPR are already being used to eliminate simple genetic defects that cause disorders such as Tay-Sachs and sickle cell anemia. For now, however, Jennifer and her team are being deployed against our most immediate threat—the coronavirus—and you have just been given a front row seat to that war.

More Books:

The Code Breaker -- Young Readers Edition
Language: en
Pages: 320
Authors: Walter Isaacson
Categories: Juvenile Nonfiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2022-04-26 - Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers

Walter Isaacson’s #1 New York Times bestselling history of our third scientific revolution: CRISPR, gene editing, and the quest to understand the code of life itself, is now adapted for young readers! When Jennifer Doudna was a sixth grader in Hilo, Hawaii, she came home from school one afternoon and
The Code Breaker Young Reader's Edition
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Walter Isaacson, Sarah Durand
Categories: CRISPR (Genetics)
Type: BOOK - Published: 2022 - Publisher:

"Walter Isaacson's #1 New York Times bestselling history of our third scientific revolution: CRISPR, gene editing, and the quest to understand the code of life itself, is now adapted for young readers"--
Code Girls
Language: en
Pages: 336
Authors: Liza Mundy
Categories: Juvenile Nonfiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-10-02 - Publisher: Hachette UK

In the tradition of Hidden Figures and The Girls of Atomic City, Code Girls is the amazing true story of the young American women who cracked German and Japanese military codes during World War II. More than ten thousand women served as codebreakers during World War II, recruited by the
Literacy 101
Language: en
Pages: 160
Authors: David Booth
Categories: Education
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-06-20 - Publisher: Pembroke Publishers Limited

In this expansive survey, David Booth, one of our foremost authorities on teaching literacy, answers real questions from teachers like you about turning research and theory into effective best practice. Teachers will find the answers they need and can use on almost any topic from phonics and word walls for
Instructor
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: David Booth
Categories: Education
Type: BOOK - Published: 1977 - Publisher:

Books about Instructor